A System to Find Genetic Networks Using Weighted Network Model

Tomohiro Moriyama[1] (moriyama@i.kyushu-u.ac.jp)
Ayumi Shinohara[1] (ayumi@i.kyushu-u.ac.jp)
Masayuki Takeda[1] (takeda@i.kyushu-u.ac.jp)
Osamu Maruyama[2] (maruyama@ims.u-tokyo.ac.jp)
Takao Goto[2] (takao@ims.u-tokyo.ac.jp)
Satoru Miyano[2] (miyano@ims.u-tokyo.ac.jp)
Satoru Kuhara[3] (kuhara@grt.kyushu-u.ac.jp)

[1] Department of Informatics, Kyushu University 33
6-10-1 Hakozaki, Higashi-ku, Fukuoka 812-8581, Japan
[2] Human Genome Center, University of Tokyo
4-6-1 Shirokanedai, Minato-ku, Tokyo 108-8639, Japan
[3] Graduate School of Genetic Resources Technology, Kyushu University
6-10-1 Hakozaki, Higashi-ku, Fukuoka 812-8581, Japan


Abstract

We are developing a system which finds a genetic network from data obtained by multiple gene disruptions and overexpressions. We deal with a genetic network as a weighted graph, where each weight represents the strength of activation from a gene to another gene. In this paper, we explain the overview of our system, and our strategy to visualize the weighted network. We also study the computational complexity related to the visualization.

[ Full-text PDF | Table of Contents ]


Japanese Society for Bioinformatics